My terrible Baltic accent
It is not a big discovery, rather a confirmation of what I already suspected for many years:
Now I am sure that I have a terrible Baltic accent, because of the event today:
My coursemate from Peru approached me in the toilet, said "Hello, are you from Lithuania? I figured that out from your accent."
Explanation: he had a Lithuanian roommate some year ago. That's how he learnt the accent.


3 Comments:
Tell me. People have asked me, if I am from Finland. I made nice face, but honestly, this is an insult. I must take English lessons from Mart Laar or Mika Häkkinen.
During my stay in Sweden I was asked by a Romanian if I am not by some chance from Romania. I took that as a compliment for some strange reason.
When I was back in Riga a week ago, I just loved Baltic accent!!! (sorry, Estonians). I think it's cute. It's totally different from Russian, German and French, and to my mind it's the most lovely I have heard. Interesting that I noticed it much more after being in Estonia for some while. Before it sounded just like almost normal English :), like one what I'm used to hear.
So, let's see if I ever hear some accent which I find more cute and lovely.
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home